Book Review; Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief!

So, welcome to my first ever book review! I’m pretty nervous about writing it, and I’ve read lots of others to see the different kind of styles. I hope you enjoy.

Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief – Rick Riordan

percy-jackson-and-the-lightning-thief-rick-riordan   I would give this book a 4/5☆ rating.

Blurb

Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood. I never asked to be the son of a Greek god.

I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher. That’s when things started really going wrong. Now I spend my time fighting with swords, battling monsters with my friends and generally trying to stay alive.

This is the one where Zeus, God of the Sky, thinks I’ve stolen his lightning bolt – and making Zeus angry is a very bad idea.

Can Percy find the lightning bolt before a fully fledged WAR OF THE GODS ERUPTS?

My Opinion

Overall this book was pretty great. It held my attention and I found it hard at times to put down. I’m going to list below, in my opinion, the good and the bad points.

Good:

The book was very consistent, I couldn’t find any obvious flaws as I was reading through the book, the characters personalities stayed the same and didn’t changed based on the situation.

The author focused on friendship over romance. I’m so tired of reading the same fantasy romance story over and over again. There doesn’t seem to be much originality any more. But this book portrayed friendship amazingly well, especially showing multiple ways friends act.

The book was amazingly well written and it was so easy to follow. It wasn’t a struggle to read and didn’t use too much brain power, which game me more opportunities to read it. The descriptions were great, I pictured everything so clearly and it really sent my imagination wild.

Bad:

In my opinion the book was slightly repetitive, it was the same fight scene over and over, although they were pretty good.

The ending came about so quickly, it felt like the book was only half done and then he ran out of ideas. I’m excited to read the second one to see how it continues because I’m really not satisfied with how the ending came about.

Favourite Character

My favourite character 100% is Grover. I love him so much. He was a completely selfless character and wouldn’t given up anything for both Percy and Annabeth. He can also speak to animals I mean how cool is that. It would be my super power if I had one. I relate to him pretty well because he’s shy and doesn’t believe in himself at all. Everyone should fall in love with Grover.

Favourite Chapter

My favourite chapter is definitely chapter 20: I Battle My Jerk Relative. This chapter really shows Percy’s relationship to the sea. It shows him really connecting with it and feeling it with his whole body. It also shows Percy’s bravery, I mean he’s brave throughout the whole book but I feel like this chapter is where it really comes out. Ares and Percy get into a big fight which is described amazingly well. Ares vulnerability finally showed through especially when he accidentally revealed he had dreams.

Would I Recommend and Read Again?

I would definitely recommend to both children and adults and I would love to read it again!

13 thoughts on “Book Review; Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief!

  1. Actually, my eldest son loves this book so it’s probably knocking around the house somewhere. I didn’t know that it was suitable for adults too. (A bit like Harry Potter?) Perhaps I should give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

