Book Review; The Reflections of Queen Snow White

The Reflections of Queen Snow White – David Meredith

Cover1c   I would give this book a 4/5☆ rating.

Blurb

What happens when “happily ever after” has come and gone?
On the eve of her only daughter, Princess Raven’s wedding, an aging Snow White finds it impossible to share in the joyous spirit of the occasion. The ceremony itself promises to be the most glamorous social event of the decade. Snow White’s castle has been meticulously scrubbed, polished and opulently decorated for the celebration. It is already nearly bursting with jubilant guests and merry well-wishers. Prince Edel, Raven’s fiancé, is a fine man from a neighboring kingdom and Snow White’s own domain is prosperous and at peace. Things could not be better, in fact, except for one thing:
The king is dead.
The queen has been in a moribund state of hopeless depression for over a year with no end in sight. It is only when, in a fit of bitter despair, she seeks solitude in the vastness of her own sprawling castle and climbs a long disused and forgotten tower stair that she comes face to face with herself in the very same magic mirror used by her stepmother of old.
It promises her respite in its shimmering depths, but can Snow White trust a device that was so precious to a woman who sought to cause her such irreparable harm? Can she confront the demons of her own difficult past to discover a better future for herself and her family? And finally, can she release her soul-crushing grief and suffocating loneliness to once again discover what “happily ever after” really means?
Only time will tell as she wrestles with her past and is forced to confront The Reflections of Queen Snow White.

My Opinion

First of all I want to say how amazing the first few pages were. The way he described the birds is incredible and it had me hooked from the get go. I liked this book so much that I actually finished it all within a few hours, I just couldn’t put the book down! The book sends you on a rollercoaster of emotions and I will admit that I did shed a couple of tears! I didn’t expect the book to be written like it was but I love that she went on journeys through the mirror and I love how she re-found her strength.

Good:

The language and sentence structure really bumped up the quality of the book and made it feel like a more mature read.

The violence and sex scenes were written amazingly well, meaning I didn’t cringe when reading either!

The consistency of the characters was great. A lot of times the characters personality will change depending on the situation but Meredith kept it so consistent and it helped me fall in love with the characters quicker then I normally would have.

 

Bad:

The only bad thing I can say about this book is that maybe it needs to be proof read again. The were just a couple of minor out of place words or awkward sentence structures. Like I said they were minor so it didn’t affect the read at all!

Also, not necessarily a bad thing, I just wish we got to see more of Snow and Raven’s relationship, I don’t feel like a couple of chapters is enough!

 

Favourite Character

My favourite character is The Mirror. I loved how it was basically a reflection of yourself and yet it still showed so much love, determination and courage. I would love to have something similar in my house. I love how it took Snow on ‘journeys’ to her past memories to help her realise how strong she was. I love the pep talks it gave and how it wasn’t willing to let go of the situation but it didn’t force it to happen either.

Favourite Chapter

Chapter 6 is definitely my favourite chapter. Seeing Snow and Charming bond in the early days filled my heart with joy. I really soaked in their relationship and found myself routing for them right from the start. If only we could all have a man like Charming in our lives!

Would I Recommend and Read Again?

100% YES! I love this book and I’m so glad that I got to experience it. I would say that only mature readers should read the book because of the violent and sexual content. But other then that I think it’s great for both teenagers and adults!

You can buy the book on Amazon for Kindle here.

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review; The Reflections of Queen Snow White

  1. Hey Becky, that was a great review! Loved the way you set it out and wrote about the parts you liked. My favourite genre to read is fiction/fantasy, so this sounds lovely! Linda. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

