Book Review; Finding Audrey

Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella 

485ac930-ec4b-0132-649a-0ecefe7c2201 I would give this book a 5/5☆ rating.

Blurb

Audrey can’t leave the house. she can’t even take off her dark glasses inside the house.

Then her brother’s friend Linus stumbles into her life. With his friendly, orange-slice smile and his funny notes, he starts to entice Audrey out again – well, Starbucks is a start. And with Linus at her side, Audrey feels like she can do the things she’d thought were too scary. Suddenly, finding her way back to the real world seems achievable.

Be prepared to laugh, dream and hope with Audrey as she learns that even when you feel like you have lost yourself, love can still find you . . .

My Opinion

Firstly, I need to point out that if this book hadn’t of been recommended to me, I probably wouldn’t have read it. The blurb makes it sound like it’s somewhat of a “I have anxiety and only my boyfriend can save me” story, which I don’t like; and secondly it’s written in the first person as well as the main character addressing the reader throughout the book, another thing which I usually don’t like.
BUT I WAS SO WRONG. I’m so glad I kept reading this book, because after the first couple of chapters I was so hooked. Shout out to Asma who recommended this to me. I would really advise anyone suffering with, or knows someone suffering with anxiety to read this book. My mothers actually agreed to read it to help try and understand my condition a bit better. I experienced so many emotions during reading this book it’s unreal. My favourite part of the book (SPOILER) is when Linus and Audrey passed notes to each other the first time they properly ‘spoke’, IT WAS SO CUTE.
I’ve just ordered the book on amazon, because I originally borrowed it from my library to read it. 100% one of my favourite books ever.

Good:
The first thing I jotted down in my ‘good’ section in my notes was this quote; “I’ve often noticed that people equate ‘having a sense of humour’ with ‘being an insensitive moron’.” This speaks to me so much, and applies in most situations in this day and age.

I also love how anxiety was portrayed. It was scarily accurate and I felt so understood throughout the book. This is a feeling that I rarely get from anyone/anything.

The characters stayed consistent. I know, this should be a given in any book right? WRONG. There are so many books in which the characters change to ‘fit the story better’ halfway through the book. I don’t mean ‘character development’, I mean literally it’s like they have a whole new personality. I’m so happy that she stayed true to the characters, because while some were annoying af, you could laugh and be like “typical response from ___” which is a really good feeling to have, you really get to know and love the characters.

Bad:
Like I said before, the only thing I didn’t really like was that it was in first person.

Other then that the only complaint I have about the book is that it was too short! I finished it in a couple of hours and felt so empty turning the last page!

Favourite Character

Frank. Other then being physically fit, and not having a mental disorder, he reminds me of myself. I would be so happy staying up playing computer games. I also share the same sarcastic wit he does and his reactions to people match mine almost perfectly. Although I do have an appreciation for Audrey as my mental health is somewhat similar to hers.

Would I Recommend and Read Again?

YES. OF COURSE. IT WAS AMAZING. I recommend everyone to read this, literally everyone. Their is no downside whatsoever, and you’re gaining knowledge about something most people don’t know enough about. Please read it, recommend it to everyone you know. This author is an amazing writer and truly deserves to be recognised!

You can buy the book on Amazon for Kindle here.
You can buy the book on Amazon in paperback here.

3 thoughts on “Book Review; Finding Audrey

Leave a Reply

